PARYLENE FILM IS THE ONLY ONE OF ITS KING TO CONTAIN ALL THE CHARACTERISTICS THAT MAKE IT AN EXCEPTIONAL COATING SOLUTION

GENERAL APPEARANCE : Parylene is the generic name for a family of polymers with more than 20 variations. Only five of these are widely used. Thanks to its excellent mechanical, electrical and physicochemical properties, Parylene is used in a wide range of cutting-edge sectors. In contrast to other protective coatings which are painted, immersed or pulverised on a substrate, Parylene is applied using a process of evaporation in a vacuum chamber. During this process, a precursor called a “dimer” which comes in powder form, is heated at around 150°C. The dimer thus goes from a solid state to a gas ( sublimation ). The following step involves splitting the dimer into two active monomers. This separation occurs at 650°C in a tubular oven. Upon arrival in this chamber, the gaseous monomer spontaneously polymerises when it comes into contact with the substrate. Finally, gases that have not reacted are caught in a liquid nitrogen trap between -90 °C and -120 °C. The process uses neither a catalyser nor toxic additives and has a conversion rate of nearly 100 %.

Parylene is a highly technical coating that is ultra-thin and transparent, physically and chemically neutral, inert, biocompatible, insulating and protective, of a thickness that can be sized both easily and precisely ( from 50 nm to 100 microns ). It is totally uniform, pinhole-free and can be applied to small technical components. One of its most remarkable advantages is its form-fitting and penetrating nature.

The combination of these qualities make it an extremely interesting player in the most demanding technological fields, including electronics, micro-electronics, space and aeronautics, medical technologies, pharmacology (elastomers, silicone and plastics), sensors and mems, nanotechnologies, micromechanics, magnets and ferrites.

Contact

DER PARYLENEFILM HAT EIGENSCHAFTEN, DIE FÜR HÖCHST ANSPRUCHSVOLLE BESCHICHTUNGEN ERFORDERLICH SIND:

ALLGEMEINER ASPEKT : Parylene ist der übergeordnete Begriff für eine ganze Familie von Polymeren mit mehr als 20 Varianten, von denen jedoch nur fünf häufig genutzt werden. Dank seinen ausgezeichneten mechanischen, elektrischen und physikalisch-chemischen Eigenschaften wird Parylene in zahlreichen Bereichen angewendet. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Beschichtungen zum Schutz eines Substrats durch Lackieren, Pulverisieren oder Eintauchen wird Parylene in einer Vakuumkammer aufgedampft. Im Verlauf dieses Prozesses wird der Rohstoff, das Dimerpulver, auf ungefähr 150 °C erhitzt. Dabei geht das Dimer durch Sublimierung direkt vom festen in einen gasförmigen Zustand über. Der nächste Schritt besteht darin, dieses Dimer in zwei aktive Monomere zu spalten. Diese Spaltung erfolgt bei 650 °C in einem rohrförmigen Ofen. In der Vakuumkammer angelangt, polymerisiert das gasförmige Monomer spontan beim Kontakt mit dem Substrat. Die nicht reagierenden Gase werden von flüssigem Stickstoff bei Temperaturen von –90 °C bis –120 °C eingefangen. Bei diesem Verfahren kommen weder Katalysatoren noch toxische Zusatzstoffe zum Einsatz, und der Umwandlungssatz liegt bei annähernd 100%.

Parylene ist eine Hightech-Beschichtung, ultrafein und transparent, physikalisch und chemisch neutral, inert, biokompatibel und biostabil, isolierend und schützend, deren Schichtdicke einfach und präzise von 50 nm ( Nanometer ) bis 100 μm (Mikrometer) einstellbar ist. Sie ist gleichmäßig, glatt, porenfrei (pinhole-free) und auf technische Komponenten mit sehr kleinen Abmessungen auftragbar. Einer der bemerkenswertesten Vorteile ist die hervorragende Tiefenwirkung der Beschichtung auf allen Oberflächen.

All diese Eigenschaften machen Parylene zu einer höchst interessanten Beschichtung in den anspruchsvollsten technologischen Bereichen wie Elektronik, Mikroelektronik, Luft- und Raumfahrt, Medizintechnik, Pharmakologie (Elastomere, Silikone, Kunststoffe), Sensoren und MEMs, Nanotechnologien, Feinmechanik, Magneten und Ferriten.

Contact